Be true to yourself

It is 4 am in the morning and I can’t sleep. I woke up with this thought in my mind and I felt the urge to blog about. Hopefully it will stir something within you.

Are you true to yourself? What does that question actually mean? When I think about it, my initial reaction is that I am probably true to myself in some areas of my life and not in others. That is probably the case for most people.

The key question however, is “Are you true to yourself in the most important aspect of your life – your purpose in life? This is a more profound question that demands a more definitive answer. If you are honest with yourself, no pun intended, you know the answer right away.

I have struggled with this question for a long time. Interestingly, my struggle has not been to discover my purpose, but to reconcile my life and what I do for a living to my purpose. It is amazing how much we can rationalize and squeeze our current vocation into the smallest crack of the realm of our purpose in order to pacify our conscience.

Why do we do this? I am sure there are many reasons. I believe the core underlying reason is because we live in a culture that emphasizes an outward-inward ethos that drives our behavior from a young age and ultimately leads us to choose a vocation path that is based on what we can get externally rather than internally.

I pursued a career in accounting and business that started with getting my bachelors in accounting from University of Massachusetts – Boston, my Certified Public Accounting (CPA), followed by an MBA from Babson College. Naturally, I followed up my education by getting into the corporate world; specifically public accounting followed by private equity. To crown by business pursuits, I started my own coffee and tea business – Peak Coffee and Tea.

The truth is I am a teacher at heart. My purpose in life is to teach and inspire people. It is one of the reasons I started this blog. I am much more interested in people than numbers or business. I constantly day dream about teaching and inspiring people. My eyes tear up when a profound thought or idea comes to mind that I know can transform someone’s life. It is happening now as I write this blog. When I pray, my heart aches for and my mind gravitates to people’s struggles in life.

Even though I have known this for a long time, I have rationalized a million times and tried in vain to squeeze my current vocation(s) into my true calling and passion – teaching and inspiring people.

I am glad to say, I have given up running away from my calling. I have fought that battle and lost. Thank God I have lost. I believe God would not let me win, because had I won I would have lost, a lot. I would have lost the joy and fulfillment of flowing in my passion. I would have lost the blessings that are connected to my purpose in life.

Have you ever used the sole of a shoe or some metal object to try and drive in a nail? The best way to describe it is – it is a grind. It takes a lot of work. It is unnatural, inefficient, aggravating and frustrating. It is a grind. It does not flow. Contrast that with using a hammer to drive in a nail. One or two strikes and you are done. It is natural. A hammer was designed to drive in nails.

What were you designed to do? Is your current vocation analogous to using the sole of a shoe to drive in a nail? If it is, then I am sure most days if not every day is a grind.

I am sure there are very many reasons to stay the course you are on even if it is a grind – your bills, your debt, your current life-style and your family and friends opinions. These are all very good and compelling reasons. They also have one thing in common – they are all external reasons.

What does your heart tell you? I encourage you to start listening. You will discover a voice so loud you will be amazed you have not been hearing it all this time. It is the voice of your purpose which beckons for your attention. I believe this voice is constant, but we tune in and out. Mostly out, because it interrupts our daily grind and creates the discomfort of pondering the possibilities.

Make a decision today to start tuning in to that voice because it will help you clear the fog and see clearly the path of your purpose that is filled with joy and fulfillment.

God created that path for you when you were born and he equipped you with the tools necessary for the journey along that path. Those tools constitute your natural talents, your personality, and your essence. Your joy, fulfillment, and blessings will come from using your tools to navigate the path set for you.

Remember, God can’t give you talents that can’t earn you a living because your talents are inherently designed to bless others. Singers are not blessed so they can enjoy their own songs. Bakers are not blessed so they can enjoy their own baking. Neither are you blessed with talents for your own sake, but for the sake of others.

What are your talents? What comes naturally to you? What do you enjoy doing? What would you do for work regardless of the income? Be true to yourself and start the journey that will align how you spend most of your time with your purpose in life.

I have started that journey. I started my journey with this blog and other initiatives I am working on to train and inspire the youth and to mentor people. I wish I could tell you it is easy to make the decision to embark on this journey, but it is not. It requires a lot of emotional, mental, and psychological reconciliation. It requires the courage to be honest and true to yourself. It also requires something that can be very elusive – clarity.

If you were heading to a particular destination for a very important reason and somewhere along the way you discovered you were lost and it would take hours to get back on the right track, would you give up and just keep driving the wrong way? My bet is you wouldn’t.

Don’t give up because you find yourself on the wrong road in your life journey towards your purpose. Don’t settle and keep driving the wrong way. Instead find the nearest exit and turn around. When you reach your destination, your true purpose, you will be glad you took the exit and you will always remember the moment you made the decision to do so.

Take heart http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MfBQ30Ta9w

God bless

Peter

One thought on “Be true to yourself

  1. If you we don`t find something worth dying for then, we have not yet started living. Because once you find the thing that you are ready to do not matter what the cost or sacrifice, then you align your life with purpose and direction. You`ll mostly likely waste little time and spend every moment doing what you know to be true. This path will eventually provide you with the kind of fulfillment that no money, title or status can produce. Then you will realize the reason why you were born and why you are still around. The seed in you has to produce the harvest for mankind to enjoy the fruit of it and eventually bring Glory and Honor to God. Everything comes back full circle to Him. Thank you for being obedient. I think it`s one of the only true way of surrender.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

