Innocent!

Sometimes I think of what to post and sometimes I am led to post something. Today, I am strongly led to write this post. I strongly believe someone needs to read this. It could be meant for me or you. There is only one way to find out and that is to read on.

It is 4 am in the morning. I woke up at 3:40 am from a very strong dream. Unlike my wife, my dreams are always fuzzy, that is the few times I dream. I rarely recall what I dream and when I do, it is very fuzzy and unclear. Today is not one of those days. I woke up with tears rolling down my eyes. Not tears of sadness, or joy, but of revelation or inspiration. I am hesitant to admit but the first thing I did was reach out for my wife. I am not sure why, but I think the dream and revelation was somewhat overwhelming and crystal clear. As I am writing this post I just thought of something else that is startling, but I will wait until the end of this post to write it (Don’t skip to the end!).

Some background is warranted. By the way this is very personal, but for some reason this morning I am not afraid to share. For quite some time, I have been fearful or anxious that I will randomly get called to preach in our church. It sounds weird because I don’t think it will ever happen, but very often when I sit in church I find myself thinking of a “quick sermon” just in case. Sometimes it is so real, my heart races as I sit in church at the expense of paying attention!

Anyway, why is this relevant, because in my dream (don’t ask for details for it is a little fuzzy as to how it happened – see above on fuzziness!) I found myself in the pulpit of our church, apparently after having been randomly called to preach. It was surreal! I was just speaking to the congregation. I was even doing what I practice when I am usually sited in the congregation. (Sorry won’t tell you what in case I ever get called!).

The amazing thing is that I found the message! I am getting really emotional now as I type this because God just remind me of the verse that says he has placed his words in our mouth and we should just speak it! OMG! You see, I have always wondered what I would preach about if I was ever called. What would be the perfect message, I have always wondered. Would I speak about motivation? Would I speak about overcoming challenges? How about my favorite subject discipline? It turns out it is none of those. Those messages would be from my mind.

The specific verse God just reminded me about is…… (Okay bear with me because this is really spooking me now and “emotional” does not describe what I feel). I just search google to find the specific verse (God reminded of what the verse says not the verse lol!), and this is what I found. Read it for yourself and pay special attention to the underlined words)

_____________________________________________________________

He Will Give You the Words To Speak

Posted On Thursday February 3rd, 2011 by Pastor Angelo Pierri

Egypt is in chaotic unrest and it seems that the rest of the world is too. Many may be asking, “Where is God?”, and aside from knowing specific Bible prophecies about the last days, Christians may not know how to answer when asked what is going on. Similarly, has anyone ever told you of a personal crisis so terrible that you really did not know what to say in response? It seems that there are many people in crisis these days who need to hear something from God. Jesus gave us assurance for times like this when He said, “Do not worry about how or what you should speak. For it will be given to you in that hour what you should speak” (Matthew 10:19). Isaiah mirrors the words of Jesus when he spoke, “The Lord has given me the tongue of the learned (or the tongue of a learner) that I should know how to speak a word in season to him who is weary. He awakens me morning by morning. He awakens my ear to hear as the learned” (Isaiah 50:4).

There is no substitute for sitting at the feet of Jesus, getting in His presence and letting Him speak to us so we can speak to others. Every morning, we can start our day by sitting at His feet, having some time in the secret closet, and listening as those being taught. And what God gives to us is what we give out to others, day by day, to those who are weary and in crisis and to those who ask, “Where is God?” in a myriad of current situations. “Whatever I tell you in the dark, speak in the light, and what you hear in the ear, preach on the housetops” (Matthew 10:27)

Any other words that come from our own emotion or our own desire to speak into a life, will fall short, be shallow, and not touch the heart. But when we speak words to someone filled with the life of Jesus, that’s where the impact is. We will know what to say because we have been with Jesus and He has spoken to us. I have had enough of empty words in my life… how about you?

Start right now, sit at His feet, read the Word, think about what He says and do what He says. Let the Holy Spirit lead you. As He speaks to you, ask Him for ways and “divine appointments” to speak to others what He gives to you. Keep it simple and clear. Trust Him, you will know what to say… and what not to say.

You will touch lives with the words God gives you and it all starts in His presence…sitting at His feet…listening…morning by morning…with a “word in season to him who is weary”. Like Samuel, none of your words will fall to the ground, but will give hope and direction to all who hear.

What do you think?

______________________________________________________

I am at a loss for words. This post has really gone out of my control. I should not be surprised because this is not one of those posts where I think of what to post. For this reason, forgive the length of this post.

At this point it is clear that some of this message is about me, but don’t forget I have not told you the message in my dream, read on.

The message I gave in my dream was “you are innocent! I spoke of and woke up thinking of someone locked behind bars even though they were innocent. I spoke about the confinement of a prison cell, the restriction, the lack of freedom and fear. My message was that many of us are living in self created and designed prison cells that are built with bars of iron constructed over the years from the fabric of our past mistakes. Though these cells are imaginary, they as real and restrictive as real prison cells. They have robbed us of our freedom, ambition, talent, motivation, joy and hope.

My message in the dream is that you are innocent, not because you have never made any mistake but because Jesus paid your sin debt in full!    John 8: 36 says “So if the son sets you free you will be free indeed” Read also, Psalm 146: 7 – 8, Isaiah 53: 5, Romans 6: 20 – 23, Colossians 2: 13 – 15.

My friend, if you believe Jesus died on the cross for you, you are innocent! You don’t have to live in the imaginary prison cell of your past mistakes! If you have been living in one, get up, open the door and walk out. You are free! I don’t know the mistakes you have made in the past, but it doesn’t matter. The freedom afforded you by Jesus is not qualified! The only requirement is that you believe!

What is the makeup of your imaginary cell? Is it fear, shame, confusion, emotional pain from failed relationships, abuse, failure, hopelessness, low self esteem, despair, a debilitating habit or addiction? It does not matter, you are innocent! The minute you acknowledge this by faith you can walk out and breathe the fresh air of freedom, renewed hope, endless possibilities of love, joy, fulfillment, and purposeful steps towards God’s destiny for your live.

Are you weary? If you are, this message is for you. God answers prayers in many ways. This message could be what you need to hear. Your weariness could be coming from pacing back and forth in your imaginary cell. It could be from looking ahead and seeing no hope and no path to your dreams and the desires of your heart. Be weary no more. You are free, and not just free, but free indeed. Your freedom was purchased by the blood of Jesus who paid your sin debt in full on the cross.

I hope this message brings you renewed hope as you start the New Year! I encourage you to start living your life like someone who is free. Wake up every morning and rejoice in your freedom and treat every day like the best gift you ever received. Live with freedom, love, passion, energy, dedication, and purpose. Jesus believed you were worth dying for to set you free. Now it is time for you to believe you are worth it as well.

Finally (for those who did not skip ahead), to my startling thought as I started to write this post. About a month ago, my wife and I were watching Sid Roth program called its Supernatural. It is not a show we watch regularly, but on this particular day I happened to be watching it. When I realized his guest was talking about dreams, I called my wife to watch it with me. For those of you who know my wife, you appreciate why I called her. For those of you who don’t, let it suffice to say she is a dreamer – for real!  I think out of envy I have secretly hoped I could dream like her. Not quite, but at least on occasion.

Anyway, after watching the show, the guest requested viewers to repeat a prayer asking God to enable them to get revelations in their dreams and to know how to interpret them. I rarely if ever do this, but I repeated the prayer (hands to my heart and the whole … you know what I mean) as my wife curiously watched (the way a veteran watches a rookie). I even committed to putting a paper and pen by my bedside as recommended by the guest on the show.

I am not kidding, since that day; I have had some amazingly clear dreams and revelations. They have been so clear I have not required any complicated or super spiritual interpretation! It is scary, in a nice way. In fact I have become bold and I now specifically ask God to speak to me through my dreams. Wow has he answered in a big way or what?

Have you been praying for something? Do not be discouraged, God answers prayers. God bless you and have a blessed 2012 and enjoy your freedom!

What do you think, should I go to church today? I am scared to…

Peter

One thought on “Innocent!

  1. I was checking to see if leaders of next generation still exist…so I googled instead of calling you.. I guess this is not a concidence. I had not read the posts for this year. Thanks for reminding me that God is with me and I can not go weary in Believing his word. Thank you… and I just shared the link on facebook and yahoo.:)

Leave a Reply

